Tasmania will declare all of New South Wales as a high-risk area from midnight, Premier Peter Gutwein says.
It will mean Tasmania will effectively close its border to all of New South Wales from 11:59pm on Saturday.
Previously Tasmania had only declared 34 local government areas in New South Wales as high-risk areas.
The decision means Tasmania has closed its border to both the entirety of New South Wales and Victoria as both states experience coronavirus outbreaks.
“You will not be able to enter [Tasmania] without an exemption from the deputy state controller,” Mr Gutwein said.
Acting public health director Scott McKeown said Tasmania could no longer afford to take any more risks with New South Wales “on top of the risk we’re already taking”.
“On that basis I’ve advised the deputy state controller and the Premier that we will declare from midnight tonight the regional area of New South Wales as high-risk,” Dr McKeown said.
Mr Gutwein estimated that 1,400 people have travelled to Tasmania from regional New South Wales in the last week.
There are currently 500 people in home quarantine in Tasmania who have been in high-risk areas.
More to come.

You may also like