UK musicians and performers will be able to tour in a number of European countries without the need for a visa or work permit, the government has announced.
Rules that came into force at the beginning of the year do not guarantee visa-free travel for musicians in the EU and have prompted fears that touring artists will incur large fees in many of the countries they visit.
However, the Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport (DCMS) said it had negotiated with 19 EU member state countries to allow British musicians and performers to conduct short tours visa-free.
These countries are: Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Sweden.
The government said talks were ongoing with remaining EU countries, including Spain, Portugal and Greece, to align their arrangements with the UKs, which allows touring performers and support staff to visit for up to three months without a visa.
DCMS said in a statement: We want the UKs fantastic performers and other creative professionals to be able to tour abroad easily. We recognise challenges remain around touring, and we are continuing to work closely with the industry.
We want to ensure that when Covid-19 restrictions are lifted, touring can resume and our world-leading creative and cultural artists can continue to travel widely, learning their craft, growing their audiences and showing the best of British creativity to the world.
It comes after months of campaigning from musicians such as Sir Elton John and Ed Sheeran on the issue of post-Brexit touring, with John previously warning the rules threatened a generation of talent.

You may also like