Countries across the globe have shut borders and banned travel between the UK over fears about a highly infectious new coronavirus strain, causing travel chaos and raising the prospect of food shortages.
The strain, referred to by some experts as the B.1.1.7 lineage, is not the first new variant of the pandemic virus to emerge, but is said to be up to 70 percent more transmissible than the previously dominant strain in the UK.
On Tuesday, the US Senate passed an $892bn coronavirus aid package, while also funding federal government activities through September 2021.
There have been 77.3 million cases of the coronavirus worldwide, with more than 1.7 million deaths.
Here are the latest updates:
55 mins ago (06:09 GMT)Guatemala to restrict entry to travellers from UK, South Africa
The new measures will require people who have visited Britain or South Africa within 14 days to quarantine for at least a week upon arrival in Guatemala.
Health minister Amelia Flores said the restrictions would initially last two months. Guatemala will restrict entry beginning on Wednesday.
51 mins ago (06:13 GMT)Taiwan reports first locally transmitted case since April 12
The individual who tested positive for COVID-19 was a friend of a person who had already been confirmed to have been infected with the virus, Health Minister Chen Shih-chung told a news conference.
48 mins ago (06:15 GMT)US Congress approves $892bn relief package
The US Congress on Monday approved an $892bn coronavirus aid package, throwing a lifeline to the nations pandemic-battered economy after months of inaction, while also keeping the federal government funded.
President Donald Trump is expected to sign the package into law.
The virus relief bill includes $600 payments to most Americans as well as additional payments to the millions of people thrown out of work during the COVID-19 pandemic, just as a larger round of benefits is due to expire on Saturday.
Read more here
2 mins ago (07:02 GMT)Uzbekistan shuts borders over new COVID-19 strain
Uzbekistan has closed its borders to residents of eight countries, including Britain, and to people who have recently visited them amid concerns about a new coronavirus strain.
The entry ban will be in effect until January 10 and will affect Italy, Germany, Denmark, Austria, the Netherlands, Australia, and South Africa, the Central Asian nations government said in a statement.

You may also like